Who has to contribute to SOCSO and who is exempt?

Effective from 1 June 2016, the Employees’ Social Security Act, 1969 states that all Malaysian and permanent resident employees must contribute to SOCSO. With effect from 1st January 2019, this was extended to all foreign employees who will now be covered under the Employment Injury Scheme only. Please refer to the latest contribution table here. Contributions will be capped at a monthly remuneration of RM4,000.

Persons not covered under SOCSO

The following are not allowed to contribute:

  • Federal and State Government permanent employees
  • Domestic servants
  • Self-employed
  • Sole proprietor or owners of a partnership

Was this article helpful?

Download The Free Guide